## How the *Tennessee Porcelain Artists* Came To Be

The *Tennessee Porcelain Artists* had its beginning in Atlanta, Georgia. Two ladies from Tennessee, who found happiness and satisfaction from creating beauty, met at a china show.

Mrs. Ruth Dunn of Nashville and Mrs. Lois Landress of Chattanooga were so enchanted with the Georgia Show that they expressed a desire to have such an organization in Tennessee. They called a meeting of all Tennessee ladies attending the show and told them of their wishes and ideas. The ladies were enthusiastic about the idea, so immediately plans were formed for Tennessee to have such an organization. In April of 1970 invitations were given to all china painters in Tennessee to meet in the home of Ruth Dunn in Brentwood.

On Saturday, May 30, 1970, at 10:30 a.m., forty five china painters met in Brentwood, Tennessee. Eleanor Crain of Atlanta, Georgia, regional director of the National China Painters Teachers Organization, came to assist in the organizing of the ladies. Lois Landress presided at the meeting. Officers were selected to serve two years, and dues were to be \$5.00 per year.

The second meeting was held in the social room of Penny's Department Store in Hundred Oaks at which time the name Tennessee China Painters Organization was adopted. The By Laws were voted on and adopted. Later the following were chosen. <u>PURPOSE</u> shall be to work together to stimulate interest in the fine art of painting and love for china painting and to strive to become better artist in the fine art of painting and decorating china and porcelain. <u>MOTTO</u>: To enrich our lives with eager zest, to give our lives our very best. Our <u>FLOWER</u> to be Tennessee iris and <u>COLOR</u> to be orchid.

The Tennessee China Painters were on their way to becoming a productive successful organization.

At the 1996 Convention the name of the organization was changed officially to *Tennessee Porcelain Artists*.

## Tennessee Porcelain Artists Current Officers

Contact information for OFFICERS (2022-2024)
Consult Membership List for more information.



Diane Nichols President dianne.nichols @att.net



Linda McLean
First VP, show Chairman
lindamcleanartstuff
@gmail.com



Danna Walker Second VP dannagw @bellsouth.net



Janis Algee Recording Secretary smilee47 @bellsouth.net



Candy Lynch Treasurer bc37360

@hotmail.com



Leslie Howe Corresponding Secretary teachhowe

@hotmail.com



East: Christa Keyes ckeyes1939

@gmail.com



Middle: Shannon McCullough



West: Beth Heck

@ aol.com

bethheck1958 @gmail.com